Data Storage Fee explained

There are several options in order to control the expenses related to data storage:

  • Keep all the data
    • The Storage Fee applies to all the data available in the client’s account.
  • Remove FASTQ; keep the BAM and results.
      • Storage Fee applies.
      • Space occupied is lower by approximately 25%.
    • Remove BAM; keep the FASTQ and results.
      • Storage Fee applies.
      • Space occupied is lower by approximately 50%.
    • Remove all the raw data (FASTQ and/or BAM); keep the results only.
      • Storage Fee applies.
      • Space occupied is approximately 75% lower, as the annotation data doesn’t take up much space.
    • Archive the sample.
        • No Storage Fee applies.
        • Sample results/annotations not available for browsing.
        • The sample is still cross-referenced with other samples and sample links are still shown in the tab with cross-referenced samples.
        • Custom Variant Classifications set up initially for the archived sample will stay available when browsing other active analysis. The same for phenotypes and diseases.
        • All sample data removed, except VCFs which is stored for possible sample re-annotation when un-archiving the sample.
        • The client may un-archive the sample. When doing so:
        • The re-annotation fee applies, according to the Appendix A.
          • Note that when un-archiving the sample VarSome Clinical will annotate the sample (VCF) against the latest annotation data, which may cause annotation and classification differences between the original and un-archived samples.

      How can you modify the storage preferences?

       

      Click on your name on the right top of the window and select "Preferences":

      Only the group supervisor will have permission to modify these preferences. If do not have a group supervisor yet, please contact us and let us know who should be the group supervisor of your group. Once you have accessed the Preferences menu as group supervisor, you will be able to set up the storage preferences:


      image (1)-1

         

        Please, bear in mind that updating the storage preferences might lead to the imminent deletion of data. For example, if you select to keep FASTQ and BAM/BAI files for one year, all the FASTQ and BAM/BAI files of samples analyzed more than a year ago will be removed.